The Christian Mystical Tradition

  • von Fr. Harvey D. Egan S.J.D.Theol.
  • Sprecher: Fr. Harvey D. Egan S.J.D.Theol.
  • 4 Std. 55 Min.
  • Vortrag


This course will inspire your heart and stir your spirit.
Called to listen to God's whispers, the mystics show us the deepest recesses of the human spirit. Now, this remarkable series gives you the rare opportunity to take one of the world's leading experts on mysticism as your personal guide. Boston College's Fr. Harvey Egan, the author of such books as An Anthology of Christian Mysticism, draws on 50 years of teaching the Christian mystics. Brilliantly taught, his lectures are filled with faithful insights.
Under his guidance, you will explore the mystical life by focusing upon 11 significant figures. You will begin with Ignatius of Loyola and his finding of God in all things before looking at the "apophatic" mysticism of the Cloud of Unknowing. Next, you will explore the classical mysticisms of Teresa of Avila, John of the Cross, and Catherine of Siena, whom many consider to be the apex of the mystical tradition. You will also encounter the visionary mysticism of Julian of Norwich.
You will discover the captivating mysticism of Francis de Sales, Angela of Foligno, and Karl Rahner. Finally, after considering Pierre Teilhard de Chardin's cosmic mysticism, you will be moved by Mother Teresa of Calcutta.
Let the great mystics of our tradition speak to you today.



"I can think of no better guide to the Christian mystical tradition than Fr. Harvey Egan." (Rev. James Martin, S.J.)
"Harvey Egan's vast knowledge of the Christian mystical tradition is impressive. Few scholars have matched the clarity of the way he introduces persons and highlights what is important in their writings. His assessments of mystics' views are always both sympathetic to them and judiciously critical of them. A great guide!" (Louis Roy, O.P., Professor of Theology, Dominican University College, Ottawa)


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:


Für diesen Titel gibt es noch keine Hörerrezensionen.

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 21.07.2017
  • Verlag: Now You Know Media Inc.