Carpe Jugulum : Discworld

  • von Terry Pratchett
  • Sprecher: Nigel Planer
  • Serie: Discworld
  • 9 Std. 49 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


Mightily Oats has not picked a good time to be a priest. He thought he'd come to the mountain kingdom of Lancre for a simple little religious ceremony. Now he's caught between vampires and witches, and he's not sure there is a right side. There are the witches: young Agnes, who is really in two minds about everything; Magrat, who is trying to combine witchcraft and nappies; Nanny Ogg, who is far too knowing; and Granny Weatherwax, who is big trouble.
And the vampires are intelligent, with fancy waistcoats and lots of style. They're out of the casket and want a bite of the future.



"Pratchett lampoons everything from Christian superstition to Swiss Army knives here, proving that the fantasy satire of Discworld 'still ate'nt dead'." (Publishers Weekly)
"Every sentence is made to sing for its supper, and it is this precision that allows [Pratchett] such meticulous control of the pacing, the plotting, and of course, the humour." (The Times [London])
"Another sidesplitting Discworld adventure." (Kirkus)


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:



The Counter-Book

TL;DR: This seems to be a Counter-Book to Wyrd-Sisters or Witches Abroad - just to get the Witches back to Earth again.

Mild spoilers ahead, beware!

This is my least favorite Terry Pratchett Discworld Book. It feels like it was written to get the Witches of Lancre back to Earth since they are described as omni-sentient beings in Wyrd-Sisters and Witches Abroad. They do not know any Bound or Master - so Pratchett had to introduce something that would be equal.

I see how the Idea was that all of the Witches were tricked by the BBEG but it felt more like they turned stupid for some days.

I totally love Nigel Planer but I would so wish that Celia Imrie (spoke Wyrd-Sisters) would speak all Parts of the Witches of Lancre while Planer keeps reading everything else.
Lesen Sie weiter...

- Jan Ka

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 06.07.2007
  • Verlag: Random House AudioBooks