Faith of the Fallen : Sword of Truth

  • von Terry Goodkind
  • Sprecher: John Kenneth
  • Serie: Sword of Truth
  • 30 Std. 1 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


Terry Goodkind, author of the enormously popular Sword of Truth novels, has forged perhaps his best yet, pitting Richard Rahl and Kahlan Amnell against threats to the freedom of the world. They both must struggle at opposite ends of the earth against the relentless, monolithic forces of the Imperial Order. A Sister of the Dark captures Richard and takes him deep into the Old World, to the very heart of the Order, while his beloved Kahlan remains behind. Free because of Richard's sacrifice for her, but unwilling to abandon the cause of the Midlands, Kahlan violates not only prophecy but her last pledge to Richard, and raises an army against the advancing horde of the Imperial Order. Separated and fighting for their lives, Richard and Kahlan will be pushed to the limits of their endurance and tested in their love for one another.
Once again, the master storyteller weaves a riveting spell that will captivate even more fans for this incredible series.



"Notable for its engaging secondary characters, the novel also evinces flashes of sly wit....Goodkind's ingenious world-building will keep readers captivated." ( Publishers Weekly)
"Kenneth's narration follows the intensity of the plot through battles and hardship, as well as dreams of love and caring human relationships. With Kenneth as guide, this book never lags." ( AudioFile)


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:



The cold war in medival fantasy?!

I can see, why there is a controversy about this book. Goodkind basically recreated an overly horrible version of communism and combined it with medieval Catholicism and integrated it into his fantasy universe. The conflict in this book arises when Richard gets captured by Nicci, a sister of the dark and taken far away to the heart of the Old World, where Emporer Jagang has commissioned a palace in honor of the Creator. While Richard is forced to live under communist rule in the old world, Kahlan, his wife and mother Konfessor of the Midlands, leads the united armies of the D'Harren empire in a desperate struggle against the forces of the Old World, mercilessly advancing into the new world.
I love the characters of Goodkind's books and I don't really have much of an issue with him preaching his objectivist believes now and again because I can see, why the characters in his world, would come to believe them. I also liked the idea of the western ideals of capitalism against the eastern ideas of communism, because that is an incredible device to create the ultimate conflict.
The problem, most people have with this book and the following books, is that he often time goes overboard with describing the conditions under communist rule in the most horrifying way possible. Everything is so completely exaggerated that it becomes very challenging to follow the story. It didn't bother me personally as much and so I could enjoy this book very much. I like Richards attitude towards life and his way of sticking to his principles. Nicci is a very interesting addition to the main cast, even tho the close to 2 and half hour flashback into her past was a bit unnecessary.
If you like Goodkind's other work, if you like the characters and their principles, you will probably have a blast with this book, the same way I did. If you cannot stand his pacing and the many chapters where not much is happening, you should stay clear of this book!
Even tho there are quite a number of problems with this one, I could not turn the audio book off, once I reached the third act and listened to the last seven hours in one session, because once Richard starts working on the statue, you can see on the cover of this book, things really start to pick up and you can barely wait for the inevitable escalation. That is why I rate this audiobook with 5 out of 5 stars, well knowing, that this only represents one part of the people, that will listen to this.
The performance by John Kenneth is on point, but not outstanding.
Lesen Sie weiter...

- Jonathan

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 13.05.2008
  • Verlag: Brilliance Audio