Fated : Alex Verus

  • von Benedict Jacka
  • Sprecher: Gildart Jackson
  • Serie: Alex Verus
  • 10 Std. 33 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch

Beschreibung

Camden, North London: A tangled, mangled junction of train lines, roads, and waterways. Where minor celebrities hang out with minor criminals and where tourists and moody teenagers mingle.
In the heart of Camden, where rail meets road meets leyline, you might find the Arcana Emporium, run by one Alex Verus. He won't sell you a wand or mix you a potion, but if you know what you're looking for, he might just be able to help. That's if he's not too busy avoiding his would-be apprentice, foiling the Dark, outwitting the Light, and investigating a mysterious relic that has just turned up at the British Museum.
Fated is the first book in a major new series starring probability mage Alex Verus, for fans of Jim Butcher and Ben Aaronovitch.

weiterlesen

Kritikerstimmen

"Harry Dresden would like Alex Verus tremendously - and be a little nervous around him. I just added Benedict Jacka to my must-read list. Fated is an excellent novel, a gorgeously realized world with a uniquely powerful, vulnerable protagonist. Books this good remind me why I got into the storytelling business in the first place" (Jim Butcher)
"Filled with tense and compelling writing" (SFX)
"Jacka writes a deft thrill-ride of an urban fantasy - a stay-up-all-night read. Alex Verus is a very smart man surviving in a very dangerous world." (Patricia Briggs)
"London's hidden wizardly community spell-blast each other entertainingly in this urban fantasy romp. Fated is highly enjoyable" (Sun)
"Fated is an excellent example of not just great urban fantasy but also of brilliant story-telling. There is a near perfect mix of everything and it has been masterfully crafted with a meticulous eye for those pieces of humanity that make a great protagonist and a fantastic story" (FANTASY FACTION)
"A novel with a very good plotline, and fascinating characters" (BOOKCHICKCITY)

weiterlesen

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:

Hörerrezensionen

Hilfreichste

Good, but lacking humor

Another good urban fantasy with great potential for an ongoing series this book tells a gripping story with just the right balance between tale and thrill. What is lacking to make this a five-star is humor, even if it is a dark tale through many chapters.
The potential is there (look at the PC Peter Grant series) and also it would be nice if the author would stop hinting that there art things he can't tell and spill it out in detail a few minutes later. It's silly considering that the whole tale is in retrospect.
But still: gripping and entertaining. I will continue with the series!
Lesen Sie weiter...

- Walter

Nice start to a storyline about an unusual character

I like the book series very much and the audio book captures the feel of the books perfectly. The narrator's voice is very pleasant and easy to listen to. He does not overperform (as many narrators do) but lets the story speak for itself. I have listened to this several times, each time enjoying the audio book.
Lesen Sie weiter...

- Stefanie Schmidt

Weitere Infos zum Hörbuch

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 02.09.2014
  • Verlag: Hachette Audio UK