How Emotions Are Made

  • von Lisa Feldman Barrett
  • Sprecher: Cassandra Campbell
  • 14 Std. 32 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


A new theory of how the brain constructs emotions that could revolutionize psychology, health care, law enforcement, and our understanding of the human mind.
Emotions feel automatic to us; that's why scientists have long assumed that emotions are hardwired in the body or the brain. Today, however, the science of emotion is in the midst of a revolution on par with the discovery of relativity in physics and natural selection in biology. This paradigm shift has far-reaching implications not only for psychology but also medicine, the legal system, airport security, child-rearing, and even meditation.
Leading the charge is psychologist and neuroscientist Lisa Feldman Barrett, whose theory of emotion is driving a deeper understanding of the mind and brain, and what it means to be human. Her research overturns the widely held belief that emotions are housed in different parts of the brain, and are universally expressed and recognized. Instead, emotion is constructed in the moment by core systems interacting across the whole brain, aided by a lifetime of learning.
Are emotions more than automatic reactions? Does rational thought really control emotion? How does emotion affect disease? How can you make your children more emotionally intelligent? How Emotions Are Made reveals the latest research and intriguing practical applications of the new science of emotion, mind, and brain.


Beschreibung von Audible

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:



Really great!

Grounded in neuroscience and turning long held beliefs about emotions upside down.

Not totally simple but worth it.
Lesen Sie weiter...

- Laura

Not enough evidences for the strong claim

Was genau hat Sie an How Emotions Are Made enttäuscht?

The author made a very big claim and compared it to the big revolutions in science, like Einstein's theory. However, in my opinion, the evidences she provided are not sufficient for that purpose.

Lesen Sie weiter...

- Xi Ding

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 07.03.2017
  • Verlag: Brilliance Audio