The Secret Life of the Mind

  • von Mariano Sigman
  • Sprecher: Peter Noble
  • 9 Std. 20 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch

Beschreibung

A vast yet compact view of cognitive neuroscience, a groundbreaking, personal and comprehensive guide into understanding our thoughts.
In the last 20 years, Mariano Sigman has journeyed to the core of the brain, an organ formed by nearly an infinity of neurons that manufacture how we perceive, reason, feel, dream and communicate.
After more than two decades of research, he has zoomed out from a thorough excursion to the neurons to seeing the brain from afar, where thoughts begin to take shape. And at this point, where psychology meets neuroscience, The Secret Life of the Mind combines the astonishing work of biologists, physicists, mathematicians, psychologists, anthropologists, linguists, engineers, philosophers and medical doctors - not to forget cooks, magicians, musicians, chess players, writers and artists. It is an astonishing synthesis of a life's expertise on the edge of science, for fans of Thinking, Fast and Slow.
Looking into how we forge ideas in our first days of life, how we shape the decisions that define us, why we dream and how years and years of formal and informal education change our brains, this book explores how we begin to understand even the smallest things that make up who and what we are.

weiterlesen

Kritikerstimmen

"Mariano Sigman writes and thinks in a uniquely provocative way. He is a gifted cognitive neuroscientist, and we are lucky to have him excavating the secret life of the mind. He makes learning about the mind and brain easy and almost automatic. He is the Richard Feynman of the brain." (Andrew Meltzoff, professor of psychology, the University of Washington; coauthor of The Scientist in the Crib)

weiterlesen

Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:

Hörerrezensionen

Für diesen Titel gibt es noch keine Hörerrezensionen.

Weitere Infos zum Hörbuch

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 01.06.2017
  • Verlag: HarperCollins Publishers Limited