This Idea Must Die

  • von John Brockman
  • Sprecher: David Colacci, Susan Ericksen
  • 16 Std. 25 Min.
  • ungekürztes Hörbuch


Each year John Brockman, publisher of, challenges some of the world's greatest scientists, artists, and philosophers to answer a provocative question crucial to our time. In 2014 he asked 175 brilliant minds to ponder: What scientific idea needs to be put aside in order to make room for new ideas to advance? The answers are as surprising as they are illuminating.
In This Idea Must Die:

Steven Pinker dismantles the working theory of human behavior
Sherry Turkle reevaluates our expectations of artificial intelligence
Andrei Linde suggests that our universe and its laws may not be as unique as we think
Martin Rees explains why scientific understanding is a limitless goal
Nina Jablonski argues to rid ourselves of the concept of race
And much more.
Profound, engaging, thoughtful, and groundbreaking, This Idea Must Die will change your perceptions and understanding of our world today...and tomorrow.



"Physics, statistics, robotics, linguistics, medicine--all are zestfully scrutinized in this exuberant, mind-blowing gathering of innovative thinkers." (Booklist)


Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen:



Religion is dead - long live the new religion

Ideas are like trees. Some have to die to give the saplings the chance to get big and blossom. Asking a multitude of high level scientists to act like foresters and define the trees that should be cut down is simply a brilliant idea and I am looking forward to the 2016 edition.

Funny to notice the zeal with which certain trees are defended that are deemed cutworthy by others. I am not going to highlight the arguments in the decision process, but just would like to advice to read the book and behold the enlightment by the great minds when the forest roof opens when a tree is cut down. Only one small proposal: slightly less Anglosaxon science focus would brighten the enlightment further.
Lesen Sie weiter...

- Marc Dierckx

Weitere Infos zum Titel

  • Erscheinungsdatum: 17.02.2015
  • Verlag: Tantor Audio